• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • fishin4wd

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 2, 2011
    I purchased a new Sig Sauer P226 Elite pistol in December. I have since shot 2500 rounds through it. I now see the slide rail has some damage to the left side. It appears there are grooves or small chips out of the metal. I would attach a picture but you can barely see the defect. It is easy to feel with your finger though.

I consulted the store I bought it from and was told by the "Sig expert" that I was not lubricating the firearm properly. He then sold me some solid "grease" to use instead of oil.

When I purchased an $800 gun I thought I was getting something I would eventually pass down to one of my kids. I'm concerned that's not the case.

I am relatively new to handgun shooting but have been shooting and caring for rifles and shotguns since my father started teaching me the sport as early as I can remember.

My question is this:

1. Should I plan on replacing this handgun after a few years?
    2. Are all handgun manufactures like this? (I researched and thought Sig was a good choice.)
    3. Am I getting a load of crap from the store?

gunman41mag

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Feb 1, 2011
    SOUTH of YOU
    I purchased a new Sig Sauer P226 Elite pistol in December. I have since shot 2500 rounds through it. I now see the slide rail has some damage to the left side. It appears there are grooves or small chips out of the metal. I would attach a picture but you can barely see the defect. It is easy to feel with your finger though.

I consulted the store I bought it from and was told by the "Sig expert" that I was not lubricating the firearm properly. He then sold me some solid "grease" to use instead of oil.

When I purchased an $800 gun I thought I was getting something I would eventually pass down to one of my kids. I'm concerned that's not the case.