• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • USMCEngineerGuy

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 12, 2022
    West Lafayette
    Okay, so I'm new to Indiana from IL, been here about a year now and starting to feel at home .. Being new to this group I'm really enjoying going through the threads, Now bear with me please. I'm new to the Classified way of buying and selling. as I browse through the classifieds, I see a lot of ads where people are requesting to see a LTCH before sale. my question is why is this? I am trying to think how requesting this information somehow absolves someone from any type of liability post sale, but I can't think of any way it would. especially considering Indiana no longer requires licenses to carry anymore. if I'm buying a firearm from someone, I have no problem showing my ID and giving my basic information for a bill of sale and receipt.. But what is the reason that some are requiring a carry license to sell, when by law I don't need to a permit to or license to buy from a shop and now to even carry a firearm, if i was back in IL legally I would need a FOID card to buy a gun, but I'm not, I live and work and reside in Indiana, where I'm not legally obligated to carry any type of "government permission slip" to exercise my constitutional rights so why are these adds requiring it ... It just seems odd to me.

firecadet613

Master
    Rating - 100%
    34   0   1
    Dec 24, 2012
    Most who ask to see a LTCH will not do a receipt and will likely walk if one is required last minute and not agreed to before hand.

Constitutional Carry is very new here, most have a LTCH and it isn't an issue, but proves you were a 'proper person', at least when you were issued that license. If you plan to carry outside of Indiana, you'll still need your LTCH.

The Illinois FOID card is very foreign to most in Indiana and speaks of gov't overreach.

Glad you left that state and welcome!

USMCEngineerGuy

Plinker