• Status
    Not open for further replies.

wolfts01

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Dec 14, 2010
    New Haven
    Hi, I've finally decided to stop procrastinating and make my first firearms purchase ASAP (and a CCW permit as well). I just turned 21 this August and, after about a year of "The first thing I'm going to do on my 21st is get a handgun," I dropped the ball and still haven't bought one.

I saw an ad for a pk380 at Gander Mountain or something in the paper today and six hours later I'm still studying gun reviews online, and I just stumbled upon this site. I didn't know there was an IN specific site, which is a big help since it is very hard to find information about local gun laws and local ranges.

I have gone all over the place as to which gun to buy, and only having shot a commander size 1911 and a colt mustang I feel overwhelmed by the choices at hand. The only gun store I know of is in Fort Wayne and they do not allow you to rent weapons to try them out, so I'm hoping I can get some guidance here.

"At the moment" I am considering the walther p99, the new XD(M) compact 9mm, and still possibly a commander sized 1911 if I find the right one for me. I have the problem that I'm a meager 5' 6" and 125 lb in size, but I really want to carry a full blown handgun for protection. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated, but I'll post a new, non-greetings, thread in a few days once I've completely changed my mind again :):

magic man

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    31   0   1
    Mar 7, 2010
    NWI
    Welcome to INGO! Take a look at the compact glock line. G19, 23, and 32 depending on your caliber preference. :welcome:

Mr.Lubie

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    46   0   0
    Sep 24, 2008
    See if you can get someone that has a Ruger SR9C to let ya shoot it.I carry one everyday and love it..Oh and welcome to :ingo:

redneckmedic

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Jan 20, 2009
    Greenfield