• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Icarry2

Master
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Nov 14, 2010
    Franklin County, VA
    Please let me know any suggestions on how to explain to my girlfriend of two and a half years that I am not nutz for starting to prepare for SHTF or other natural disaster.

I already asked her how would we be able to stay in the house we rent with no power?

I already asked her how long could we survive on the food that’s in the house?

I already explained that no power = no water without a manual pump, we are fortunate to have a well even though we live in town.

It all started because I became a legal resident of Indiana a few months back, I was a legal resident of the communist state of Illinois before that. I used to be a resident of Indiana when I went to college and had a LTCH back then. I recently reinstated my LTCH and have started to carry all the time now.

Like an idiot I had let my first ex-wife convince me to disarm for the most part so with a LTCH I had to go out and purchase a new carry weapon, I now carry a Ruger SR9c w/10 rd mag all the time.

It took her a while to get used to it but she isn’t going to stop me from being armed and being able to defend us. She is convinced she lives in a safe place and that nothing will ever happen to her. On the other hand I was robbed at gun point once when I was in college and don’t want it to happen again.

What I am being “poked at” now is working on organizing an effort to become prepared for a natural disaster and or SHTF day….

To start I am armed and always carry a Kershaw Leek in my pocket, a spare 17 rd mag for the Ruger and a flashlight on my belt at all times. She said I look like a robo cop guy now..

My truck has first aid, blanket, some sort of food and usually a bottle of water in it most of the time.

My work truck which I spend most of my time in has much more in the way of survival if I get stuck somewhere.