• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • NapalmFTW

British dude
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 30, 2011
    Lowell
    When I used to live at home my father had a really great tool selection. I've moved out now and I am having to rebuild the collection.

So far the in laws bought me some Craftsman tools for Christmas (I know, I know). Got some ratcheting wrenches and a socket set.

What I really need is screwdrivers. Is there a good make/brand? I love the ones with rubberized handles.

Also - whats the received wisdom on wrenches/sockets - 6 point or 12?

buzzined

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Dec 6, 2010
    Crown Point
    Snap on Mac or Macto if you want the good stuff.

I use 6 point mostly, only use 12 point on 12point bolts.

Craftsman isn't bad.

I am a mechanic all of my shop tools are Snap on or Matco most of my home garage tools are Craftsman.

Mr Evilwrench

Quantum Mechanic
    Emeritus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Aug 18, 2011
    Carmel
    How hard do you expect to torture them? Craftsman will still replace anything you break, and if breakage isn't a big factor, you should be good. If you're doing impact, get impact ones. Screwdrivers, find a handle you like in a quality brand, and you won't go wrong. There can be some really bad blades, but if you get good ones, the handles are more a factor. Just don't be cheap; you'll do fine.

9mmfan

Grandmaster
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Apr 26, 2011
    Mishawaka
    Snap on Mac or Macto if you want the good stuff.

I use 6 point mostly, only use 12 point on 12point bolts.

Craftsman isn't bad.

I am a mechanic all of my shop tools are Snap on or Matco most of my home garage tools are Craftsman.

^^^^^this^^^^^ is the way to go.

NapalmFTW

British dude
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Aug 30, 2011
    Lowell