• ...and so much more!
  • awatarius

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 25, 2010
    Indianapolis
    Hello,

I just purchased my first handgun a P220 at the Indy1500. I grew up in a country family where having guns was just what everyone did. I am not new to shooting guns but I am new to owning a handgun. Most of the guns I have used were all revolvers, and shotguns/rifles. I filed last Monday for my handgun permit so it should be in any day. I have gone through the gun safety ringer with my family (partly military) but also gun safety courses in regards to hunting (however it has been years). I then last night watched endless reviews, and videos online about my new gun (I was not aware how famous it was).

All that being said I understand, and know that I am in some stage of novice. That owning a handgun requires lot's of responsibility. I would like to hear any advice people would have on my specific model of new gun, maybe suggestions on a handgun training course, and suggestions or wisdom garnered from years of being hand gun owners that you would kindly gift my direction.

Thanks,
    Matthew

awatarius

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 25, 2010
    Indianapolis
    Type of 220

Aye mine is not an elite, but is an older model. It's in great shape and has the American Style clip ejection, silver over black and is Sig Sauer. I love the look and feel of this gun for sure.

Thanks,
    Matthew

Bubbajms

Master
    Rating - 100%
    20   0   0
    Sep 3, 2008
    Delphi, IN
    Advice - find someone to run through the basics with you. Some of it may (probably will) be old hat, but you'll learn some new stuff I'm sure.

GMack_1

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 31, 2009
    Montgomery Co.
    Congrats on your new purchase. I do not own a Sig since I am a Glock-person, but I have heard and read nothing but positive feedback on Sig pistols (I am afraid to shoot one for fear of falling in love).