I live in Indiana and Florida. Can I buy a handgun while I'm in Indiana?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • SwampDude

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Feb 18, 2014
    Indianapolis
    I own homes in both states, and I live in both homes about 6 months each year. I am a Florida resident for voting, income taxes, driver's and CCW license.

As I understand the residency rules as described in the federal background check fine print, when I'm living in my home here I am considered a resident of Indiana for the purpose of purchasing a firearm. I would show my Indiana address on the background check form when buying a gun here.

The only Indiana gun dealer I asked about eligibility to buy a handgun when I'm living here (I sent him a fax with the relevant information highlighted) failed to respond.

I'm in the market for a couple of handguns. My record is squeaky clean. I have property tax, utility and other records showing residency in both states. Can an Indiana dealer sell me a handgun or use his FFL to receive a handgun purchased by me from another seller?

ryan3030

Master
    Rating - 100%
    94   0   0
    Dec 2, 2010
    Indy
    https://www.atf.gov/files/regulations-rulings/rulings/atf-rulings/atf-ruling-2010-6.pdf

ATF has previously addressed the eligibility of individuals to acquire firearms who
    maintain residences in more than one State. Federal regulations at 27 CFR 478.11
    (definition of State of Residence), Example 2, clarify that a U.S. citizen with homes in two