Status
    Not open for further replies.

mk2ja

Master
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Aug 20, 2009
    North Carolina
    I don't know about everybody else, but I love being able to use INGO from my iPhone. However, I don't like that it isn't quite the best fit in Mobile Safari. So I thought, what about a dedicated INGO app? I have some experience with iPhone development, so I started tossing a proof-of-concept app together that I was going to show off.

But then I found Tapatalk.
    Tapatalk is an iPhone, Android, Nokia mobile application for super fast and handle forum access. Forum owner can download the free plug-in to activate this in your forum. Tapatalk supports iPhone and Android. Nokia and BlackBerry version are in the making and will be available in February 2010.

Tapatalk supports phpBB and vBulletin forums. It is not a vBulletin style. Nothing would change for people who use the web browser of their mobile device. It is a plugin that allows each respective native mobile app to interact with the back end.

For iPhone users, there is a free "read only" app (iTunes link) as well as a $2.99 fully-featured app (iTunes link). Here are the differences between the free and paid versions:
    2oPM

I don't know anything about the Android app, but it apparently is already available on Android Market.

@ Fenway & Mods - Can we convince you guys to look into installing the free vBulletin plugin so we can have a better on-the-go INGO experience?

ETA - it isn't already set up for this is it? Cuz I'd feel stupid for suggesting it if you already had it.

Caleb

Last edited:

pudly

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    35   0   0
    Nov 12, 2008
    Undisclosed
    That's a lot like designing a web site for Windows only and excluding Mac/Linux/etc users. I think it is a better strategy to support a more standards-based technology that is friendly to most all mobile clients rather than dictating only a couple of platforms and excluding other users.