• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • kcwolf200

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 19, 2011
    Lafayette
    I just got my first M1 Garand from CMP this week and I am new to owning one of these. Any advice on maintenance, lubrication, care? Also, do I need to strip it down and clean it thoroughly before use?

Any other tips or advice is appreciated. Thanks.

xmas_asn

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   2   0
    Mar 2, 2011
    Fort Irwin, Ca
    Cleaning? Is it full of cosmoline? If not I would just run some hops 9 down the barrel and fallow it with a bore snake.

I tip on ammo tho.. Watch out for newer ammo in 30-06. It has a much higher pressure than the M1 Garand was designed to handle. You could damage the operating rod and the gas system. There is ammo specifically made for the M1 Garands or surplus ammo.

03A3

Expert
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 8, 2009
    Shaker Prairie
    I would field strip, clean and lube.
    Did you receive a manual with it? There should have been a manual. It will show lube points for grease. Other places such as hammer pin, the fork of the follower rod ect, any wear point, can be lubed with a good oil.
    Lube anything that moves, but not the gas system.
    Do you have a USGI buttstock cleaning kit? If not you should buy one from the CMP. The M10 tool in it is used to disassemble the bolt, tighten/loosen the gas plug, and is also the T-handle for the cleaning rod. I wouldn't use the steel cleaning rod, as they are hard on the bore especially at the muzzle.
    A real chamber brush is a plus to have. The last I bought of these came from Bill Ricca. Get a few as they don't last forever.
    I'm guessing that you don't have a cleaning kit yet so if your gas plug is tight use a LARGE std. (flathead) screwdriver.