Match Grade vs value pack 22LR..Your experience?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Boiled Owl

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jul 29, 2010
    Newton Co. !
    I posted last week about trigger upgrades to my 35 yo Ruger 10/22. Now that the trigger is lighter and smooth, wanted to get some real world testimonials on match grade ammo, as we seek to tighten up our groups.

I've been reloading since 1982, but for some reason I've never fired a box of match 22 ammo! Mainly use the Remington or Federal value packs. But I'm trying to make the 10/22 a tack driver and take my 12 yo to an Appleseed later in the summer.

Here is what I posted at the end of my trigger thread:

"We both shot two five shot groups at 75 yards. We could group 3 of 5 together in about 3/4 on an inch or less, but had fliers that widened it out to about 2.5 to 3 inches.

We shot these with Remington 525 value packs. They're certainly not of premium quality, occasionally we run across some that don't have primer material in them. Good for plinking though.

Which brings me to another question:

What kind of results could we achieve with something like Wolf match 22's?"

As always I appreciate your insights!

gunman41mag

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Feb 1, 2011
    SOUTH of YOU
    If you want tight groups, you'll have to pay for MATCH ammo, but sometimes your gun will shoot good with cheap ammo, I would buy a box of match ammo to see how much better your groups are

Boiled Owl

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jul 29, 2010
    Newton Co. !