• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • cartmanfan15

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Sep 23, 2010
    Seymour, IN
    So, got to shoot my friends 30-30 lever action that was his grandpas at the last PW shoot in Oakland City. Now, I am wanting to pick one up ASAP. Any suggestions on good ones, comparisons of brands, etc? Tried to find another thread for this type of question but did not see one. Really liking some of the Winchesters that I have seen like the 94s....

cartmanfan15

Shooter
    Rating - 100%
    29   0   0
    Sep 23, 2010
    Seymour, IN
    Mostly just some good recommendations, maybe good places to pick some up, anything that would help. I am new to lever action rifles so I am hoping to get one as soon as I can. I know Gander Mountain has a few and I think Bradis Guns carries some too. Any useful information would be most appreciated :)

Kirk Freeman

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    9   0   0
    Mar 9, 2008
    Lafayette, Indiana
    Well, what do you want to do with it?

The Winchesters are usually less expensive (the "Ranger" model used to be $100), but harder to mount optics. For the Winchester I usually mount an XS ghostring or Lyman 66 (old school) on it after a trigger job, action job and sling.

If you want spitzer bullets look to a Sako Finnwolf, Winchester 88, Browning BLR or a Savage 99.

So, what has you so hot on underlevers? You know their downsides, right?

snapping turtle

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 5, 2009
    Madison county
    Slow down and check the pawn shops, gun stores. If you find a used one be prepaired to pay 300-400. Normally lots of 30-30 in the used areana.

The new ones from marlin look like plastic stocks (walnut with a tuff finish)

Look for a marlin model 39a 22 lr as they are near perfect lever guns.