• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • wilkenjr

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 3, 2011
    I just picked up a P99 9mm AS and i shot a friends Glock at the range and kinda liked it better, but i am very very new to handguns and i was just wondering if a trade for a g19 or g17 would be a good idea. or should i just keep the p99?

96firephoenix

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Apr 15, 2010
    Indianapolis, IN
    I would keep the P99, but that is my personal opinion. I like the way the P99 feels in my hand a lot better than the way the glocks do. something about the square sight picture also turns me off to glocks. they are great guns, and you will not regret getting one from the point of it being a bad gun, but you may regret it from the point of not liking the Glock as much as you like the P99.

Lock n Load

Master
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    146   0   0
    May 1, 2008
    FFort
    If you didnt shoot them side by side at this range trip, then try and do it. Thats the best way to figure out which one suits you best.

Coming from a G19 guy..... see which one handles the best, you shoot the best and are comfortable with.

Indy_Guy_77

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    16   0   0
    Apr 30, 2008
    They'll both depreciate... But the Walther will hold it's value longer.

P99 magazines in 9mm are expensive and difficult to find. SW99 mags will also fit. They're also hard to find in 9mm.

If yours is in .40, mags are easy to get a hold of.

I used to own two Walther P99s. I now no longer own them. Of course, I've also owned two G19s and one G17... don't own them any more either!

I found the G19 and G17 to be much easier to shoot follow up shots. Same with the S&W M&P pistols.

The P99's higher bore axis + grip angle meant that it was rather flippy upon recoil = slower follow up shots for me.