• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Haycoxjason

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 24, 2011
    Huntingburg
    This is my first attempt at reloading .223 ammo. I can reload .223 brass and shoot it through my savage axis, but I can't shoot brass that has been shot through my specific gun. The cartridge will get stuck in the chamber every time. It's so tight we have to use a mallet to open the bolt. We have tried just about everything and can't seem to find the problem. I figure it's probably something small that we're just overlooking. Has anyone else had problems like this with their savage or their reloads? Any ideas? Thanks for the help in advance!

Last edited:

Yeah

Master
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Dec 3, 2009
    Dillingham, AK
    What sizing die and how are you setting it?

If you've set your sizing die correctly and then can't chamber the round after a bullet has been seated, your necks need turned.

teddy12b

Grandmaster
    Trainer Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    40   0   0
    Nov 25, 2008
    How far are you bumping the shoulder? You are full length resizing, correct?

Welcome to INGO

What he said.

I'll add this much. Next time you have a pile of brass and you're ready to start reloading run one piece of brass through your resizing/deprimer die and then try to chamber it in the gun. If that piece of brass is to toight for your chamber, then turn your resizing die a quarter of a turn. Run your piece of brass through it again and then see how it fits in the chamber of your rifle. Keep repeating this until you're happy with how it's working out for you. This is one of those areas where you can get your brass to fit your chamber as perfectly as you set your reloading dies.