• View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • rideac

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Feb 7, 2011
    I'm bouncing all over the place trying to figure out which SHTF handgun would be best. I was thinking cz82 at first because ammo is cheap and so is the gun. Looking into it a little bit more though, ammo is equally priced with 9mm and its 1,000x more common, so i ruled that out.

I think that a 9mm would be best for a couple of reasons:
    1. ammo is cheap
    2. ammo availability
    3. 9mm guns hold more rounds

I realize that .40s&w and .45 have more stopping power, but with ammo being more expensive and being able to fire less rounds per mag than 9mm i see the 9mm winning this battle.

But now the question, I'm pretty new to handguns and have only shot a couple. Not sure which 9mm to get. I like the Ruger SR9, but the glock 17 looks appealing as well.

Opinions????:dunno:

vxtip

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jul 23, 2008
    West of somewhere
    ill jump in. Get the glock, i just bought my first glock today and im in love. i was a glock hating, 1911-a-holic, but im a changed man now! I debated the calibers too, ive decided i dont feel undergunned with any of the 3 calibers, a good hollow point will make anyone's day bad. Shot placement is key, so if you can train more with 9mm than you would with the other two more expensive calibers thats a positive. I have no experience with the SR9 but a buddy likes his, thats anecdotal and means nothing though. Maybe consider the CZ75, its got a big following. I would recommend cruising google to really know the weapons pro's and con's, consider parts availability, and additional costs of owning a weapon such as accessories or trouble shooting and repair.

Hornett

Master
    Rating - 100%
    15   0   0
    Sep 7, 2009
    Bedford, Indiana
    Buy a Glock 22 or a 23 in 40 S&W.