What’s your go-to 7.62 or .308 cartridge for long range shooting?

The #1 community for Gun Owners in Indiana

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • PSOD

Probably on the toilet
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    12   0   0
    Apr 24, 2023
    Owen/Clay county
    I’m just getting into some longer range shooting and I’m trying to figure out what to shoot that’s not crazy expensive.

I have shot a number of different brands through my scar 20s with significantly varying degrees of success.

I was getting some wonky groups with aguila even at 100yds so I ditched that and tried some generic Winchester 149gr fmj and it wasn’t much better. I was starting to think that I’m just a terrible shot at 100yds but I tried some pmc bronze and had significantly better results. 2moa group with 4 shots.

A buddy recommend I try some hornady black a-max 168gr and I stacked 3 in .3moa at 100yds. Needless to say but I was shook. I was starting to think it was me or the gun.

Moving out to about 290 yds (max range at my property) and I tried the pmc bronze again and was at least hitting the paper but not great. Tried the generic Winchester and it was all over the place missed the paper on about half my shots. I went back to the hornady a-max and it was significantly better, around 5 moa for 4 shots.

Is the hornady just that much better? Is it the gun? If it’s the ammo that’s going to suck cause I have nearly 1000 rounds of range ammo stored up but if I can’t hit anything with it out past 100yds than what’s the point of keeping it when the only 7.62 I have is the scar20s to shoot it with?

Idk I’m new to this. Any input is appreciated.