• matt4shadow

Plinker
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Sep 10, 2009
    Hobart
    I have gone to Willow Slough at least ten times and have:
    Calls:
    Used a lower end electric call using several factory loaded sounds (Jackrabbit, Cottontail, Hurt pup). I also have used my mp3 player hooked up to a speaker amp combo. Used 20 min sequence downloaded off the internet. Also a hand caller (Rabbit distress)
    Situation:
    I go early morning before the sun is up. Gives me plenty of time to get setup and wait 30 min before I call. I setup with the wind in my face.
    I spray all clothing with odor control scent free. I stay very still and only move my head from side to side very slowly.
    Area: Willow Slough Area 2 large open fields with water ditches surrounding it.

Still nothing. Never even seen one. What gives.. At least I get to see beautiful sunrises.:dunno:

HD_darla

Plinker
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 7, 2009
    I'm not an expert but I've always had better luck as it gets closer to dark. No idea why, maybe most will have different stories but thats when I go. Might work for you.

AGarbers

Expert
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Feb 4, 2009
    Martinsville
    Don't feel like the lone ranger. Sometimes they can be very hard to get. You may be calling too loud. You need to start out soft to begin with. They also may be coming in without you seeing them. They like to sneek in using every bit of cover, then circle around until they're down wind of the call just to be sure. The only critters that come running in are young and dumb.
    My son and I did call in two humans when we went last year.. They heard the dying rabbit call and wondered what poor creature was being tortured. It was funny but taught me to be carefull.

halfmileharry

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    65   0   0
    Dec 2, 2010
    South of Indy