• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Raye7r

Marksman
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 17, 2009
    Parke County
    My grandson who we raised took his life here at home. He had just broke up with his girl. He came home, did laundry, cut up and stacked a tree that had blew down in the back yard. We had plans to go deer hunting in the morning. Both officers on the scene indicated i could get the firearm back when things settled down. I went to get it today, it is an old Helwan Beretta clone, no particular significance except it was ours. We were his guardians. I was told they were keeping it. No doubt it was a suicide. Does that sound right. Wife and I would rather have it here. Just curious what the law is regarding it.

actaeon277

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Nov 20, 2011
    Merrillville
    I'm not a lawyer.

But seems to me, police can only take things for evidence.
    If there is no crime, there shouldn't need to be evidence.

But... better to hear that from a lawyer than me.

Wolfhound

Hired Goon
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    45   0   0
    Apr 11, 2011
    Henry County
    I am very sorry for your loss. My son did the same with a handgun I had given him back before he went to Iraq. I don't want it back and the NCPD never offered.

churchmouse

I still care....Really
    Emeritus
    Rating - 100%
    187   0   0
    Dec 7, 2011
    Speedway area
    I'm not a lawyer.

But seems to me, police can only take things for evidence.
    If there is no crime, there shouldn't need to be evidence.

But... better to hear that from a lawyer than me.

Thats my thinking. Under what authority are they holding it unless waiting for the final word.

Bfish

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    Feb 24, 2013
    Man, I am very sorry to hear this. From you too wolfhound. I hope you guys can handle it well on a daily basis, it's got to be tough.

halfmileharry

Grandmaster