• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • DadSmith

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Oct 21, 2018
    Ripley County
    I was wondering why the thumb safety needs to be on to carry a 1911?.

There is a grip safety that will not allow the hammer to fall while in the holster. So why carry it with the thumb safety on?

Most firearms have nothing but a trigger safety now days, and with proper finger placement drawning the 1911 and firing it should be no different.

So why use the thumb safety at all?

Now remember I'm a 1911 noob so educate me.

binkerton

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Feb 21, 2012
    Noob here, but to me theres just something about that unsprung hammer sitting there that would make me uneasy. Couple that with the typical 1911 trigger which seem to be very easy to pull and I dont know that I would carry one cocked and unlocked. Just my thoughts on the matter.

russc2542

Master
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Oct 24, 2015
    Columbus
    If you can, you should, otherwise why did you get one? Tradition? Why else would you even carry a 1911 vs one of those new fangled tupperware guns with a trigger dingus?

If you do carry it unlocked, make sure you still practice sweeping the safety off on the draw so you don't have an "oh crap" moment should it get activated accidentally. At that point you might as well carry locked since you're already practicing for it.

ditcherman

Grandmaster
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    22   0   0
    Dec 18, 2018
    In the country, hopefully.
    This will be interesting; I’m gonna throw out that the fact that the trigger on a 1911 is nicer, lighter, and crisper, that the safety is needed. The safety provides lockup of the slide, sear, and hammer.