• Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • GMtoblat

Sharpshooter
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 9, 2012
    Crane
    Was finding something to watch last night and saw on HBO a documentary on gun rights. I cant remeber what it was called i caught the tail end of it but it intrigued me. I'm still new to the civilian gun world and have yet to go through the process of buying a gun. The show tried to portray both sides but seemed a lean a little more towards anti-gun focusing on inner-city gun violence. but a point was brought up about the gun show loop hole. about how non-private sellers i.e. gun shops had to do a back round check to sell a gun and if you were a private collector there is no such requirement. the anti-gun lobbyist were atleast trying to close this loop hole. any thoughts on the subject?

OneBadV8

Stay Picky my Friends
    Site Supporter
    Rating - 100%
    52   0   0
    Aug 7, 2008
    Ft Wayne
    It's a private sale between two citizens. It's not only at gun shows. Its no different than selling a gun to your neighbor. The Libs want everyone to have to pay a gun shop to "transfer" ownership. The term "Gun Show Loophole" is their attempt at fear mongering.

All about more control, its the dumbest thing ever. :twocents:

cosermann

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    14   0   0
    Aug 15, 2008
    A "loophole" is liberal code talk for anything that's perfectly fine and legal, but that they'd like to be made illegal.

It's like saying the tax deduction for mortgage interest is a tax "loop hole."

Repeat after me 5 times:
    There's no such thing as the gun show "loophole."

A REAL loop hole is an untended ambiguity, omission, or technicality in the system that allows someone to avoid the clear intent of the system.

Things that are simply and intentionally NOT covered by a system, are NOT loopholes.

Things that are outside the scope of a law are NOT loopholes.