• Total voters

AllenM

Diamond Collision Inc. Avon.
    Industry Partner
    Rating - 100%
    133   0   0
    Apr 20, 2008
    Avon
    I am going out on a limb here. If the price was "reasonable" would there be any interest in some 1911 smithing classes? I hold nor do I offer any certifications. I am self taught and I am just offering my experience.

I have been rolling this around in my head and am curious how many people would like to learn some of the ins and outs of the 1911. I hear a lot of talk and I know there would be some interest but there would be cost involved and some of the schooling would be done with equipment that many average people don't own. However the fundamentals would be the same and there knowledge to be had that can be used with different more available tooling.

So who would be willing to pay for this?

The first thing I had in my mind is: I have 2 1911's that I will be fitting new barrels to and if there is enough interest I would be willing to share the knowledge of what is involved.

Also I have a competition trigger to set up and can show you how to do a Crisp, safe and reliable sub 3lb trigger.

Fitting safeties, ejectors, extractors etc.

Another class would be fitting Slides to frames with out a dead blow hammer :)

By a show of hands who would be interested? I am not sure what would be fair cost is but I see what some charge and I have no interest in charging that much.

Doing a complete barrel fitting and explaining fundamentals of function and accuracy I would expect a 3 to 4 hr time frame.

Anybody?

Also be aware that this would be for you to use on your personal firearms and there would be a wavier to sign. It is against the law to accept another persons firearm for repair or service if you must keep it overnight unless you are a FFL.

NHT3

Grandmaster
    Rating - 100%
    53   0   0